Celebrating the Achievements of Our Colleagues

Posted · Add Comment

Our colleagues’ accomplishments in family medicine further strengthen Canada’s health care system and ensure the highest quality of clinical care, teaching, research, and advocacy.

Dr Jennifer Hall, President of the College of Family Physicians of Canada, and Dr Francine Lemire, Executive Director and CEO of the College, will present the following awards at the Convocation and Awards ceremony.

The 2015 W. Victor Johnston Award, which recognizes a renowned Canadian or international family medicine leader for continuous and enduring contributions to the specialty of family medicine in Canada or abroad, will be presented to Dr Calvin Gutkin of Mississauga, Ontario.

The Jean-Pierre Despins Award is presented each year to a CFPC member identified as an outstanding advocate and public spokesperson for family medicine and/or family physicians and their patients. Our 2015 Jean-Pierre Despins Award recipient is Dr Dominique Deschênes from Quebec, Quebec.

The Calvin L. Gutkin Family Medicine Ambassador Award recognizes a leader in Canadian family medicine distinguished by his or her vision, innovation, and relationship building with organizations that support and positively influence the ever-changing role of the family physician. This year’s Calvin L. Gutkin Family Medicine Ambassador Award goes to Dr Lynn Wilson of Toronto, Ontario.

Honorary Membership recognizes physicians or members of the public who have made outstanding contributions to the CFPC, the discipline of family medicine, the health system, or the health and well-being of the population in Canada or abroad. This year, we will confer Honorary Membership on three outstanding Canadians: Ms Sandra Banner of Ottawa, Ontario; Dr Jeffrey Turnbull also of Ottawa, Ontario; and Dr Catharine Whiteside of Toronto, Ontario.

Several honours were bestowed previously in the week.

The CFPC presented the first Patient’s Medical Home 60/20 Caring and Compassion Grants to Ms Joyce Lo, Dr Kimberly Wintemute, Ms Suja Arackal, and Ms Amanda Hodges with the North York Family Health Team, for their project North York Family Health Team: Poverty Screening Pilot Project. Two additional grant recipients were Dr Nicholas Potvin from Peace River, Alberta, and Dr Tracy Burton from Picher Creek, Alberta.

The inaugural recipient of the Power of the Arts in Family Medicine Fellowship, a partnership between the CFPC’s Research and Education Foundation and the Michäelle Jean Foundation, was Dr Stephen Darcy from St John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador, for his project, SMART Youth: Synergy of Medicine and the ARTs in Youth Well-being.

This year there were two Early Career Development Award recipients: Dr Naheed Dosani from Toronto, Ontario, and Dr Adrian Edgar from Fredricton, New Brunswick.

The 2015 recipients of the Sadok Besrour Grants for Global Health Projects were Dr Meghan McLaren from Ottawa, Ontario, and Dr Jazmin Marlinga from Calgary, Alberta.
The inaugural Jim Ruderman Academic Family Medicine Leadership Award was presented posthumously to the man for whom it was named, Dr Jim Ruderman.

CFPC sincerely congratulates all award winners.