Congratulations to Medical Student Scholarship Recipients!

Posted · 1 Comment

The CFPC recognizes outstanding students committed to a career in family medicine with Medical Student Scholarships of $10,000 each. Each of Canada’s 17 medical schools nominates one student in their second-last year of undergraduate study. Scholarship winners, listed below, received the College’s highest scholastic award—supported by the Research and Education Foundation and Scotiabank—at the FMF Opening Ceremonies on Thursday, November 12th.

The College recently introduced the Indigenous Medical Student Scholarship, offered to a top medical student of First Nations, Metis, or Inuit descent. The aim of this award is to help address the educational gap between Aboriginal and other Canadian students. This year, we celebrated Ms Meghan Olson of the University of Calgary as our first recipient of the Indigenous Medical Student Scholarship.

University of British Columbia Ms Carlen (Kay) Ka-Yin Fung
University of Alberta Mr Cian Hackett
University of Calgary Ms Sara Janelle Towers Porisky
University of Saskatchewan Ms Sarah Stewart
University of Manitoba Ms Kaitlin Adey
University of Western Ontario Ms Janina Mailloux
McMaster University Ms Clara Sellers
Northern Ontario School of Medicine Ms Aislynn Torfason
University of Toronto Ms Alexandra Mardimae
Queen’s University Ms Lauren Welsh
University of Ottawa Mr Philip Lee
University de Sherbrooke Mme Anne-Marie Pothier
University de Montreal Mme Andrée-Anne Duchesneau
McGill University Ms Camille Brisson-Tessier
Laval University Mme Anne-Julie Bussières-Cloutier
Dalhousie University Mr Austin Zygmunt
Memorial University Ms Mimitha Pukulakatt