# THE COLLEGE OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS OF CANADA



## LE COLLÈGE DES MÉDECINS DE FAMILLE DU CANADA

## CFPC Board of Directors 2013–2014 (as of August 2014) — Executive Committee



Dr Kathy Lawrence President Regina, Saskatchewan



**Dr Marie-Dominique Beaulieu**Past-President, Montreal, Quebec



Dr Garey Mazowita
President-Elect and Chair of the Board,
Vancouver, British Columbia



Dr Jennifer Hall Honorary Secretary-Treasurer, Rothesay, New Brunswick



Dr David White Member-at-Large (one-year term), Toronto, Ontario





**Dr Francine Lemire**Executive Director and
Chief Executive Officer

Dr Claudette Chase Member-at-Large (three-year term), Thunder Bay, Ontario

### **Chapter-Elected National Board Directors**

**Dr Shari Claremont**, BC (retired December 2013)

Dr Patricia Mirwaldt, BC

Dr Christie Newton, BC

Dr Cathy Scrimshaw, AB

Dr Patricia Smith, AB

Dr Nico Kriel, SK (retired March 2014)

Dr Paula Schwann, SK

Dr Danielle Cutts, SK

Dr Paul Sawchuk, MB

Dr Susan Fair, MB

Dr David Tannenbaum, ON (retired November 2013)

Dr Frank Martino, ON

Dr Jonathan Kerr, ON

Dr Cathy Faulds, ON

Dr Dominique Deschênes, QC

Dr Maxine Dumas-Pilon, QC

Dr Caroline Laberge, QC

Dr Anick Pelletier, NB

Dr Marc-André Doucet, NB

Dr Michelle Ciach, NS

Dr Susan Malloy, NS

Dr Lana Beth Barkhouse, PEI

Dr Shannon Curtis, PEI

Dr Charlene Fitzgerald, NL

Dr Jackie Elliott, NL

#### Other Board Directors

Dr Miriam Boillat, Chair, Section of Teachers

Dr Alan Katz, Chair, Section of Researchers

Dr Tom Bailey, Chair, Section of Family Physicians with Special Interests or Focused Practices

Dr Alison Delorme, Chair, Section of Residents (retired June 2014)

Dr Steve Hawrylyshyn, Chair, Section of Residents

Dr Jaspreet Mangat, Chair-Elect, Section of Residents

Dr Michelle van Walraven, Vice-Chair, Section of Residents (retired June 2014)

Dr Alexis Lemmex, Vice-Chair, Section of Residents

Ms Émilie Gagnon, Co-Chair, Section of Medical Students (retired November 2013)

Mr Iain Vergie, Co-Chair, Section of Medical Students

Ms Sara Porisky, Co-Chair, Section of Medical Students

**Dr David Price**, Chair, Association of Canadian Chairs of Family Medicine (retired November 2013)

Dr Marie Giroux, Chair, Association of Canadian Chairs of Family Medicine

Ms Judy Erola, Public Member (retired November 2013)

Mr Scott Dudgeon, Public Member

Ms Linda Ross, Public Member

Mr William Mussell, Public Member

## The CFPC is indebted to its numerous member-based committees and their chairs

Fourteen committee chairs are completing, or have recently completed, their terms at the time of the Annual Meeting of Members (formerly Annual General Meeting) on November 13, 2014, and will be recognized at that time. The Board would like to thank the following committee chairs for their commitment and dedication:

Dr Louise Nasmith, Chair Accreditation Committee (2007–2014)

Dr Connie LeBlanc, Chair, Emergency Medicine Program Committee (2010-2013)

**Dr Tom Bailey,** Chair, Section of Family Physicians with Special Interests or Focused Practices (2006–2014)

**Dr Patricia Mirwaldt,** Chair, Honours and Awards (2011–2014)

Dr Alan Katz, Chair, Section of Researchers (2011–2014)

**Dr Miriam Boillat,** Chair, Section of Teachers (2011–2014)

**Dr Alison Delorme,** Chair, Section of Residents (2013–2014)

Ms Émilie Gagnon, Co-Chair, Section of Medical Students (2012–2014)

Dr Konia Trouton, Chair, Equity and Diversity Committee (2008–2013)

**Dr Tom Smith-Windsor,** Chair, Collaborative Committee on Rural Education (2007–2014)

Dr Eric Wong, Chair, Triple C Competency Based Curriculum Task Force (2010–2014)

Dr Michael Kates, Chair, Hospital Medicine Program Committee (2011–2014)

Dr John O'Driscoll, Chair, Environmental Health Committee (2008–2014)

**Dr Lisa Fischer**, Chair, Sport and Exercise Medicine Program Committee (2010–2014)

A special thank-you to **Dr Doreen Oneschuk**, for serving as the Chair of the Palliative Care Program Committee from November 2013 to November 2014, when she stepped down in order to become a part-time staff member at CFPC.

A special thank-you to **Dr Frank Martino**, for serving as the Interim Chair of the Emergency Medicine Program Committee since January 2014.

Committee chairs whose terms will be renewed (for a second three-year term) or extended (for one year) at the time of the 2014 Annual Meeting of Members on November 13th include the following:

**Dr Ruth Dubin** of Kingston, ON; Chronic Pain Program

Dr Liz Grier of Kingston, ON; Developmental Disabilities Program

Dr Katherine Rouleau of Toronto, ON; Global Health Program

Dr Brent Kvern of Winnipeg, MB; Editorial Advisory Board

Dr Chris Frank of Kingston, ON; Health Care of the Elderly Program

Dr Ruth Elwood-Martin of Vancouver, BC; Prison Health Program

**Dr Catherine Cervin** of Sudbury, ON; Board of Examiners

Dr Curtis Folkerson of Wakefield, QC; Self-Learning

#### Executive Committee members who chaired 2013-2014 committees:

Dr Kathy Lawrence of Regina, SK; Executive

Dr Kathy Lawrence of Regina, SK; Strategic Planning Committee

Dr Garey Mazowita of Vancouver, BC; Board of Directors

Dr Garey Mazowita of Vancouver, BC; Bylaws

Dr Jennifer Hall of Rothesay, NB; Finance and Audit

Dr Marie-Dominique Beaulieu of Montreal, QC; Nominating

### Other committee chairs:

Dr Joyce Zazulak of Dundas, ON; History and Narrative in Family Medicine

Dr David Gass of Halifax, NS; Advisory Committee on Family Practice

Dr Sharon Cirone of Etobicoke, ON; Addiction Medicine Program

**Dr Ellen Anderson** of Sooke, BC; Mental Health Program

**Dr Heather Baxter** of Calgary, AB; ALSO Advisory

Dr Connie LeBlanc of Halifax, NS; Emergency Medicine (Examination)

Dr Bill Sullivan of Thornhill, ON; Ethics

Dr Pierre-Paul Tellier of Montreal, QC; Family Medicine Forum Advisory

Dr Sarah Kredentser of Winnipeg, MB; Governance Advisory Committee

Dr Wayne Weston, of London ON; Institute for Healthcare Communications Canada

Dr Lisa Graves of Sudbury, ON; Maternity and Newborn Care Program

Dr Alan Kaplan of Richmond Hill, ON; Respiratory Medicine Program

Dr Jeff Sisler of Winnipeg, MB; Family Practice Cancer Care Program

Dr Christine Freeman of Peterborough, ON; Family Practice Dermatology Program

Dr Patricia Mousmanis of Richmond Hill, ON; Child and Adolescent Health

Dr Ian Goldstine, of Winnipeg, MB; Continuing Professional Development

**Dr Kathy Lawrence** of Regina, SK; Examinations in Family Medicine

**Dr Scott MacLean** of Edmonton, AB; First Five Years in Family Practice

Dr Alanna Danilkewich of Saskatoon, SK; Janus Project

Dr Norah Duggan of St. John's, NL; Membership Advisory

**Dr Cathy MacLean** of St. John's, NL; Patient Education

Dr Ralph Masi of North York, ON; Research and Education Foundation

Dr Steve Hawrylyshyn; Section of Residents

Dr Allyn Walsh of Hamilton, ON; Faculty Development

Dr David Keegan of Calgary, AB; Undergraduate Education

Dr Rick Birtwhistle of Kingston, ON; Canadian Primary Care Sentinel Surveillance Network

**Dr Susan Phillips** of Kingston, ON; Equity and Diversity

**Dr Joel Andersen** of Sudbury, ON; Occupational Medicine

**Dr Janet Smylie** of East York, ON; Aboriginal Health

Dr Anthony Wiens of Dauphin, MB; General and Family Practice Anesthesia

Mr Iain Vergie and Ms Sara Porisky, Section of Medical Students

Dr Tom Crichton of Sudbury, ON; Working Group on Certification Process

Dr Sandy Buchman of Toronto, ON; Task Force on the CFPC's Relationship With Pharmaceutical Industry

Dr Sandy Buchman of Toronto, ON; Social Accountability Working Group

We would like to thank all committee chairs and committee members for their contribution to the College and to family medicine in Canada.